Workshop Details
WONTON: Workshop on Nanotube Optics and Nanospectroscopy
07/17/2005 - 07/20/2005
Meeting Description:

First Workshop on Nanotube Optice and Nanospectroscopy

The recent advances in the field of nanotube spectroscopy have not only broadened our horizon regarding their optical properties and their potential towards new applications, they have also stimulated intense discussions regarding issues of fundamental interest. Here, we want to bring colleagues and students together for a concentrated four-day workshop on nanotube optics and spectroscopy.

Topics to be covered at the meeting include:
# Light absorption, emission, and scattering
# Carrier interactions, band structure and optical spectra
# Theory of excitons in carbon nanotubes
# Ultrafast dynamics of carriers, excitons, and phonons in carbon nanotubes
# Spectroscopy of small ensembles or individual tubes
# Magneto- and electro-optics
# Nanotube-based optoelectronic devices and electroluminescence
# Growth and purification of nanotubes for optical studies
# ...

The meeting will host a maximum of 60 participants. It will feature approximately 20 invited talks by distinguished researchers as well as 40 contributed poster presentations. We believe that the size of this meeting with a clear focus on nanotube optics and spectroscopy will provide an ideal forum for fruitful and stimulating interactions among young and established researchers.


Tsuneya Ando (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Phaedon Avouris (IBM Yorktown Heights)
Mildred S. Dresselhaus (MIT)
Graham R. Fleming (University of California, Berkeley)
Paul Finnie (Institute for Microstructural Sciences,
Robert H. Hauge (Rice University)
Achim Hartschuh (University of Siegen)
Tony F. Heinz (Columbia University)
Manfred M. Kappes (University of Karlsruhe)
Hiromichi Kataura (Nanotechnology Research
Institute, Tsukuba)
Hans Kuzmany (University of Vienna)
Victor I. Klimov (Los Alamos National Lab)
Steven G. Louie (University of California, Berkeley)
Shigeo Maruyama (University of Tokyo)
Eugene J. Mele (University of Pennsylvania)
Lukas Novotny (University of Rochester)
Andrew Rinzler (University of Florida)
R. Bruce Weisman (Rice University)

Stephen Doorn
Debdulal Roy
Han Htoon
Georgy Fedorov
Eric Chang
ERIC Anglaret
Tobias Hertel
Randy Ellingson
Mildred Dresselhaus
Sébastien Berger
Danilo Romero
Zipeng Zhu
Hans Kuzmany
Joseph Wiltshire
Phaedon Avouris
Michael Heben
Achim Hartschuh
Yingzhong Ma
Victor Klimov
Neil Anderson
Lukas Novotny
Yan Yin
Robin Nicholas
Jonah Shaver
James Doyle
Ian Mortimer
Adrian Nish
Tsuneya Ando
Leonid Grigorian
Oleg Korovyanko
Elena Obraztsova
Riichiro Saito
Andrew Rinzler
Takashi Shimada
Daniel Milkie
R. Bruce Weisman
Jared Crochet
Marcus Jones
Bruce Alphenaar
Eugene Mele
Manfred Kappes
Junichiro Kono
Jay Kikkawa
Paul Finnie
James Fraser
Youichi Sakakibara
Anna Swan
Hiromichi Kataura
Jason Simmons
Robert Hauge
Garry Rumbles
Tony Heinz
Steven G. Louie
Michael Arnold
Shigeo Maruyama
Graham Fleming
Patrick Richard
Veronica Barone
Todd Krauss
Yutaka Ohno
Taishi Takenobu
Ajit Srivastava
Ado Jorio
Xiaodong Cui
Leonas Valkunas

Meeting Venue:

Telluride Conference Center in Mountain Village

Back to Top