Workshop Details
Nonlinear Dynamics of Classical and Quantum Hamiltonian Systems
06/27/1988 - 07/10/1988
Meeting Description:

We are pleased to announce the fourth annual workshop focused on the nonlinear dynamics of classical and quantum systems. This workshop is part of a broader set of workshops that have been held in Telluride, Colorado since 1984 under the title of Telluride Summer Research Institute. This institute was started by Steve Berry and Peter Salamon in 1984 and the series of workshops which have been concerned with nonlinear dynamics was originated by Bill Reinhardt in 1985. The nonlinear workshop attracted about 20 participants the first year and 30-40 in the past two years.

As in previous years, the exact subject matter of the present workshop depends to a large degree on the participants. In the past, a broad range of subjects has been discussed including:classical and quantum perturbation theory, experimental and theoretical molecular spectroscopy, symmetry, semiclassical quantization, transport in chaotic components, classical-quantum correspondence interaction, multiphoton excitation, and adiabatic invariance, including separatric crossing. It is anticipated that, as in the past, any senior researcher who desires will give a presentation and also that some graduate and postdocs will give talks. We hope also to divide the workshop into two sets of afternoon sessions with a concentration on atomic dynamics in the first week and molecular dynamics in the second week.


Although the format of the workshop is flexible and may be changed when the workshop convenes, we hope to follow a format which allows for several days of talks (M-W), with a day off on Thursday, followed by two days of talks on Friday and Saturday. This should allow for plenty of interaction among participants on off days and evenings, which has been a major attraction of the workshops in the past. In previous years, the talks have been fairly informal with a good deal of discussion during and after the presentations, with most of them 1-2 hours in length, thus allowing for a full exposition.

Participant List:
Arley Anderson, University of Maryland
Zlatko Bacic, Los Alamos National Lab
Jerry Bernholc, NC State University
Steven Berry, University of Chicago
Jan Blocki, Inst. for Nuclear Research, Poland
Gil Bor, University of California, Berkeley
Robert Easton, University of Colorado
Christopher Essex, University of Western Ontario
John Frederick, University of Nevada
Eric Friedman, University of California, Berkeley
Stephen Gray, Northern Illinois University
Martin Gutzwiller, IBM Research Center
Mike Kellman, Northeastern University
Steve Knudson, College of William and Mary
Zhiming Li, Northeastern University
Florence Lin, University of California Berkeley
Wen-Chien Lin, University of Texas, Austin
Robert Littlejohn, University of California Berkeley
Leo Michelotti, Fermilab
Leo Moorman, SUNY at Stony Brook
Klaus Mosegaard, Univ. of Copenhagen Denmark
James Nulton, San Diego State University
Andrew Ogielski, Bell Communications Lab
Robert Parson, University of Colorado Boulder
Randall Shirts, University of Utah
Paolo Sibani, University of Denmark
Edwin Sibert, University of Wisconsin
Stanislaw Sieniutycz, Warsaw Technical University, Poland
Jack Simon, University of Utah
Rex Skodje, University of Colorado Boulder

Meeting Venue:

Telluride School

Back to Top